Welcome to my message board.

New member registration has been disabled due to heavy spammer activity. If you'd like to join the board, please email me at MaxDevore at hotmail dot com.

Promotion

Author: Bev Vincent

Writers who hide their lamps under baskets don't sell books.

You can't stay quiet about something, and the process of getting the word out about your book isn't limited to what your publisher's publicity and marketing department can do. It's up to the author to take charge and spread the news, to do whatever he/she can to get people everywhere interested in and aware of your work.

I've been doing a little bit of that off and on lately. The problem is to not blow your moment too soon. If people hear about your book now, they're going to want it now.

Still, I've been planting little seeds in diverse places. One is in the departmental newsletter from the university where I graduated longer ago than I care to remember. This piece ran in the most recent issue:

Bev Vincent (BSc '83, PhD '88, Cameron/Knop) has signed a contract with NAL/Dutton (an imprint of Penguin-Putnam) to write a book entitled, The Road to the Dark Tower, the first critical evaluation of Stephen King's epic Dark Tower series. The book is being done with King's approval and should be published in late 2004, coordinated with the release of the final book in King's series. The Road to the Dark Tower will likely be translated for overseas markets. Stephen King has provided Bev with the manuscripts of the yet unpublished last three books in the series to help Bev complete the work. See www.BevVincent.com for updates.

I know it reached at least some people. I had an e-mail from an old friend of mine who is now teaching at a college in Cyprus who read the article.