Welcome to my message board.

New member registration has been disabled due to heavy spammer activity. If you'd like to join the board, please email me at MaxDevore at hotmail dot com.

The process

Author: Bev Vincent

This is my first time working on a book, so I thought I'd add some notes here about the process my manuscript takes from my computer to the book stalls in about a year from now.

As I mentioned before, I sent the first draft in at the end of July and I'm now working on revisions that will go back to my editor at the end of the week.

The production crew, meanwhile, has been putting on their thinking caps. Today I received some notes about their proposed cover copy (text for the front, back and spine). I had no idea that things like that were going on in the background and it excites me to no end to think that there are people beyond my editor who are working on my book! I guess I thought that stuff might start a few months down the line.

Author: eta6

As an avid reader, I have to admit I never think about the work people put in to design and cover art. I suppose I just take it for granted. But if given pause to think, one realizes that it is really quite an important part of a book. Whether one should or not, judging a book by its cover can make a difference in sales.

Author: Rache4173

Strangely enough, that is exactly how I purchase some of the books I read. Thankfully, I've found quite a few very good reads that way.

'Sleepers' by Lorenzo Carcaterra is one that comes to mind. The cover caught my attention so many times I finally bought it. I wasn't disappointed.

That has to feel really cool Bev - knowing that people have jobs that directly affect YOUR book!