Welcome to my message board.

New member registration has been disabled due to heavy spammer activity. If you'd like to join the board, please email me at MaxDevore at hotmail dot com.

Doctor Who: Leap Second

edited April 2006 in Short Stories
About a month ago, an editor asked me if I would be interested in pitching a story for a "tie-in" anthology. He approached a lot of people, and apparently the response was positive so there were no guarantees that the people he asked would necessarily make it through to the next round.

The pitches were to be quite brief, around 100 words. I got word last night that mine was one of those selected for the anthology. I'm not going to reveal more about the nature of the book at this point. After all, the story is unwritten and who knows--it might end up being dreadful! This is my first time writing in someone else's universe, so it will be an interesting experience. I've been doing some research, immersing myself in the various media involved on the off chance that I'd get the green light.

The working title is "Leap Second." I'll keep y'all updated about its progress. I have to submit the final version, under 5000 words, by October.

Comments

• Very cool- can't wait to hear more details.
  • I'm intrigued! This sounds exciting, Bev! :)
  • I finished Leap Second and sent it off to the editor this morning. It's a 4900-word Doctor Who story featuring the fifth doctor (Peter Davison) and Peri. The story takes place in Prague (as do all the stories in the anthology, which is called Destination: Prague) in 2099. The book will be out next year as part of the long-running Short Trips series from Big Finish/BBC.
  • I just received word from the editor that Destination Prague will be released in March 2007.
  • I got my contract for Doctor Who in the mail today. Four pages long! It's a little more complicated than a routine short story contract because of the copyrighted character issues.